Return to CyclingForum Home Page CYCLING TECH TALK FORUM
          View posts since last visit

Specialized Roubaix 2017
 Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Author Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Marc N.

12/2/16 12:04 AM

Specialized Roubaix 2017

I`m looking at buying a new bike (my first since 2001), and have my eye on a 2017 Roubaix. Unlike past models that had the Zertz inserts, the new models have what they call Future Shock (a micro suspension above they head tube) with 20mm of float. Initial reviews are very favorable, but was curious what you folks thought.
The bike also only come with disc brakes, which I have no experience with at all. The model I`m looking at is with mechanical Ultegra, and would appreciate thoughts if the Di2 is a significant upgrade. Not sure if another purchase will be in my future, and I`m having a hard time deciding if it is worth the extra cash. Thanks.

Reply to topic     Send e-mail

Marc N.

12/2/16 3:31 AM

Cont.

Forgot to add that I am also considering the Trek Domane SL6 or SL7, but for the time being am leaning towards the Specialized.

dan emery

12/2/16 5:45 AM

Can only offer general advice

"Life is short, buy the damn bike."

Reply to topic    

Campyman

12/2/16 6:55 AM

New bike

Not sure of your budget so a bit hard to point you in a specific direction.
Have you checked out the Domane SLR? I know it is a step up in price from the SL. I would lean in the Trek direction over the Specialized. IMHO the level of engineering is better with a Trek then almost any other bike brand.
As to the Groupo, get the Di2, way better then Mechanical. My wife has a Di2 Ultegra equipped Trek Silque SSL and loves the way it shifts. Several of my friends also have Di2 Ultegra all of then swear by it.
My current ride is a Domane 6, the one before they released the Domane with the front ISO-Speed. I've ridden the SL and the SLR. The SLR was the better ride with the SL coming in very close.