Return to CyclingForum Home Page CYCLING TECH TALK FORUM
          View posts since last visit

Starter Guitar and Lessons
 Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Author Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
bikerjohnpostal

2/19/15 7:48 PM

Starter Guitar and Lessons

So I'm a total newbie to music and guitars, but one of the things that have always been on my bucket list is to learn to play guitar. It's nothing that I "need" to do right away (it's been on my bucket list since the song Play Guitar by John Mellencamp), but the winter blues are starting to kick in and I always seem to think about things like this to do. Plus my birthday is coming up and the wife may just go for something like this. It started today when we brought our daughter to a music store to replace her flute. We walked out of there with a used flute for her and I spied a pretty cheap starter set. It's the Squier by Fender with 10G amp for $200. So I know it's cheap and not that great, but like I said I know nothing and am starting from ground zero.

My questions are:
1) Is that actually a good starter set, knowing that it isn't the best or if I will even like it? (or should I get the next one up with the 15G amp for $250? or something else that someone suggests)

2) I don't have time during the day or the money to pay someone for lessons, so is there good starter videos online that I could watch? Or if I don't have time for the lessons, should I just not even try it?

Let me know what you guys think! I'm sure a few of you will have opinions! :)

Reply to topic    

Sparky

2/19/15 8:22 PM

Erik is your best guy to talk to, him having pretty much just taken the journey himself.

Google TABS for songs you might want or be interested in playing. There are a ton of folks on youtube that put up vids with lessons of a ton of songs that should be easy to follow.