HOMECLUBS | SPONSORS | FEATURESPHOTO GALLERYTTF DONORS | SHOP FOR GEAR

Return to CyclingForum Home Page CYCLING TECH TALK FORUM
          View posts since last visit

Toyota Matrix/Vibe

Author Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
sanrensho

9/22/14 12:24 PM

Toyota Matrix/Vibe

Have any TTFers owned a Toyota Matrix/Vibe?

Thinking of buying an 07-09 Matrix to replace our 99 Legacy wagon. Fuel econ will be considerably better but we'd be giving up almost 40% in cargo room (occasional camping/road trip, chucking my 50cm road bike in the back w/front wheel removed).

I am hoping to make up for that with a combination of large roof box and hidden hitch/bike carrier. I've never used a roof bike carrier before but my impressions are not great. (I'm not tall either.)

Any thoughts/advice? Thanks.

Reply to topic    

sanrensho

9/22/14 12:44 PM

I hadn't thought of this, but a flat hitch carrier (cargo) and roof bike carrier might be another way to go?

http://www.etrailer.com/Hitch-Cargo-Carrier/Pro-Series/63155.html

Reply to topic    

JohnC

9/22/14 1:31 PM

Sounds like you're intimidated a bit at the thought of the bike on a roof rack, so you probably ought to go for the back one. I don't know that care, but I've used both hitch racks and trunk racks (Saris Bones) on a variety of cars (vans, hatchbacks, notchbacks) and they all worked fine for me. I especially like the Bones because it folds up nicely for storage when you get where you're going.

Reply to topic     Send e-mail

sanrensho

9/22/14 1:55 PM

Due to low clearances in our underground garage, I'm going to have to ditch the roof bike carrier idea. I'll put a cargo box or bag on the top. Hitch and bike rack on the back.

Reply to topic    

Sparky

9/22/14 3:42 PM