HOMECLUBS | SPONSORS | FEATURESPHOTO GALLERYTTF DONORS | SHOP FOR GEAR

Return to CyclingForum Home Page CYCLING TECH TALK FORUM
          View posts since last visit

SRAM X5 shifters

Author Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Pat Clancy

3/1/14 6:34 PM

SRAM X5 shifters

Some months ago I posted a question about 26" vs. 29" mountain bikes. Given the positive feedback on 29" wheels, I'm looking at a Specialized Rockhopper Comp 29. This bike has a 2x10 setup with SRAM X5 shifters. I have no experience with SRAM components. Can anyone comment on SRAM in general and the X5 shifters in particular?

Reply to topic     Send e-mail

dfcas

3/1/14 8:21 PM

I've had mountain twist shifters, rear derailleurs, and cassettes. All were fine, but I have not had trigger shifters, nor have I had any road stuff.

ErikS
Location: Slowing boiling over in the steamy south, Global Warming is real

3/2/14 4:00 PM

I have used Rival for a couple of years. Shifts feel between S and C. Solid yet softer than C. Cables are clulgy unless you keep them spotless. Seem to last pretty well though I may upgrade to Red this year when I graduate from college. My brain is used to double tap now and I don't want to retrain it.

SRAM offers good bang for the buck.

Craig

3/3/14 1:44 AM

I HATE SRAM stuff. I hated the first iteration of grip shi(f)t, the X-Ray stuff, the AVID stuff they bought, I hated what they did to SACHS chains, their cassettes are awful, TruVativ cranks suck and their rings shift poorly. Double Tap shifters are blah, their road front derailleurs don't work, their cables are a joke.

But their MTB trigger shifters are great. At least at the X-9 level. I swapped out the OEM cables with Shimano stainless cables and housing on both sets I have and they have been pretty much flawless since. I felt that the Shimano trigger shifters were starting to feel a bit light and vague. SRAM triggers feel solid and positive. You'll probably love them.

Reply to topic    

Sparky

3/3/14 2:17 AM